KZN Athletes To Represent SA at World 21km Champs

Congratulations to Mbuleli Mathanga & Jenet Mbhele on their inclusion in the SA 21KM team that will represent South Africa at the 21km world championships to be held inGdynia, Poland on 20 March 2020. Makhosi MHLONGO has been nominated as a non-traveling reserve for the team. See ASA official press release below

For Immediate Release 3 February 2020 SA TEAM NAMED FOR WORLD ATHLETICS HALF MARATHON CHAMPS A strong 10-member team has been announced by Athletics South Africa for the World Athletics Half-Marathon Championships, scheduled for Gdynia, Poland on 20 March 2020. National record holder Stephen Mokoka, who clocked 59:51 in Buenos Aires last year, will lead four other SA men at the biennial road running showpiece. Mokoka, aiming to finish among the top 10 for the fourth time at the World Athletics Half-Marathon Championships, will be joined by consistent performer Precious Mashele, marathon star Desmond Mokgobu, as well as experienced campaigner Joel Mmone and Mbuleli Mathanga.

The five-member SA women’s team will be spearheaded by Glenrose Xaba, who will make her World Athletics Half-Marathon Championships debut after dipping under 70 minutes over the 21.1km distance last year. She will line up alongside ultra-distance star Gerda Steyn, who will be eager to display her tremendous versatility, as well as Jenet Mbhele and twin sisters Lebo Phalula and Lebogang Phalula-Luthuli. Collen Mulaudzi will provide cover for the men’s team as a non-travelling reserve, while Makhosi Mhlongo has been confirmed as a non-travelling reserve in the women’s squad. “We have now selected our best possible team. It is a team that carries a lot of hopes on their individual shoulders. We therefore, have confidence in them that they will do us proud. “This is a team that has the potential to bring back silverware and we urge them to remain focussed on what lies ahead,” said Aleck Skhosana, the President of ASA.

World Athletics Half Marathon Championships 29 MAR 2020 GDYNIA, POLAND Final Team MEN NO NAME SURNAME GENDER PROVINCE

1 Precious MASHELE Male CGA

2 Joel MMONE Male ACNW

3 Mbuleli MATHANGA Male KZNA

4 Collen Mulaudzi Male AGN

5 Milton Kekana Male AGN


1 Glenrose XABA Female AGN

2 Gerda STEYN Female AGN

3 Jenet MBHELE Female KZNA

4 Lebo PHALULA Female CGA


6 *Makhosi MHLONGO Female KZNA *Non Travelling reserve

Ends Athletics South Africa